cupcake army

At last! This weekend, I acquired the critical assets to complete my mission of a mini cupcake revolution. Gone are the days of full-sized muffins and cupcakes. Bite-sized is where it’s at. I always find that my eyes are bigger than my stomach and half way through a muffin or cupcake, I realized that I only wanted half of it. So this is the perfect solution.

On numerous occasions I’ve looked for these mini cupcake pans at my local Superstore but they were always sold out! Today, I found a whole stack of them AND they were on sale. Score!

I used two recipes and tweaked them a bit to suit the ingredients I had at home – the dead simple chocolate cake and Roxanne’s Banana Bread (from a colleague at my old workplace).

blueberry line up
Dead simple blueberry chocolate bites

Dead Simple Blueberry Chocolate Bites
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used blueberry yogurt)
1/4 cup oil (I canola)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons cocoa

For the blueberry topping:
1/2 cup blueberries (mine were frozen)
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon sugar
(or of course, you can use frosting)

Preheat oven 350F.

Line a mini cupcake pan with paper cups.

Mix together the sugar, yogurt, oil and vanilla in one bowl until combined. In another bowl, blend together the flour, salt, baking powder and cocoa. Add the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and stir until just mixed. The batter will be thick.

Spoon into prepared cupcake tins. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes and then cool. Put the frozen blueberries, honey and sugar in a saucepan on medium heat. Stir frequently and wait for it to come to a boil. After 5-7 minutes, it should be come thick. Drizzle the blueberry glaze on top and enjoy!

Next up…Roxanne’s Banana Bonanza Bites

mini banana muffins
banana muffins

Ingredients
½ cup unsalted butter (or margarine)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 1/2 bananas)
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1¼ cup whole wheat flour
1 pinch of cinnamon
Chocolate chips (optional)
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with paper cups. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar.

With the mixer running on medium speed, add the eggs one at a time. Add the mashed bananas and mix well. In separate smaller bowl, mix the baking soda, salt, flour and cinnamon thoroughly.

Add dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix thoroughly. The dough will be sticky. Spoon the dough into the prepared pan(s) and smooth out top.

Bake until done (about 10-12 minutes). Do not overbake – test with knife or wooden skewer towards end. (Knife should come out clean but not dry). Cool on wire rack for 20 mins. Remove from pan(s) and return to wire racks to cool completely.

Bye now…off to take over the world!
cupcakes!

