I survived week two at my new job and can I admit that I love it even more each day? Perhaps it’s the honeymoon period (or the fact that they feed us breakfast and lunch) but I’m looking forward to what else is in store!

Anyway, New York seems like so long ago but I wanted to share my time there because it was great and I have tons of photos!

I stayed at The Standard, a boutique hotel known for it’s hip interior, great food, and celebrity sightings. It’s located in the trendy Meatpacking District , an area unfamiliar to me (the last time I went, we were just south of Central Park).

the standard hotelthe standard exteriorthe standard bathroom the standard bathroom
(Notice how the massive tub doesn’t have a door, and all that separates it from the bedroom is a pane of glass? Yeah, that’s right! Kinky!)

I didn’t see any celebrities but one of the unique features of The Standard is that it is build over The High Line, an old elevated railway that has been converted into a park. On my last day in New York, I took a walk along there and snapped some photos:

the high line high linerailway tunnelhigh line by night
1. the entrance just south of 14th ave.
2. loving the contrast between nature and industry.
3. railway tunnel with beautiful stained glass.
4. looking down at the High Line from my hotel room.

From the hotel, I could walk to Chelsea market, a food concourse where lots of unique and specialty stores were. I hope the folks there didn’t notice the spots of drool on my shirt. I wanted to eat EVERYTHING.

chelsea market
Eleni's Cupcakes
amy's bread

One of the highlight of my trip was definitely going to see Daniel Radcliffe in the musical: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. It was absolutely FANTASTIC and I would recommend it to everyone! Daniel Radcliffe was also surprising very good in it but I couldn’t help but be reminded of the HP7 movie scene of him as Harry, dancing with Hermione. And that made me giggle.

me and dan

Also on my last day, I walked around the city and stumbled upon the farmer’s market in Union Square. Unfortunately I didn’t bring my camera with me but it was beautiful – fresh fruits, colourful tulips, lively people. A lovely end to my trip.

Where I ate:
Lavo
Pastis
Fig & Olive
Mezza Luna Pizzeria

Where I shopped:
Loehman’s
Macy’s Herald Square
Uniqlo

