me in hotel roomDay 1: casual outfit for event set up
(shirt from gap, vest from jacob, pants from rue 21, belt from ?, boots from Nine West)

me in hotel room
me in hotel room Day 2: suited up for customer event; jeans for evening outings
(suit custom made in Hoi An, Vietnam, shirt from H&M, necklace from the Bay, jeans from rue 21)

Guys, I think I am in love. With Vancouver that is. I knew right from the moment I got out of the airport and hopped into a cab for the short ride over to the downtown core. The scenery is amazing, the air is fresh and crisp, the buildings are beautiful – the vibe is so inviting. And I knew right then and there that it has made it onto my “places I’d want to live” list.

My hotel was the Renaissance Harbourside Hotel which boasted a spectacular view of the mountains and water.

vancouver - view from hotel
vancouver - view from hotel bar view from hotel
This time around, I was lucky to have squeezed in some downtime, and even luckier that I had a friend and some colleagues out there who were kind enough to take us out.

Here are a few places that we went over two days:

Kamei Japanese Restaurant
One of the first Japanese restaurants in Vancouver that introduced the traditions and culture of Japan to Vancouverites. The staff are dressed in kimonos and we had to remove our shoes to sit on mats (there was space carved out under the table so we could dangle our legs). We ordered a bunch of share plates and roles. I tried fresh wild salmon (very different in taste and texture than the salmon sashimi in Toronto) and sea urchin. The latter was less than appetizing.

Cactus Club Cafe
A trendy bar (casual fine dining during the day) where we were entertained by a very intoxicated lady who tried relentlessly to pick up men.

Chill Winston
A restaurant & lounge in the lovely, cobbled streets of Gastown. We ended up in the private party room. I ordered the indulgent poutine and balanced it out with some steamed veg. Nice vibe, great food, great company!

Republic Nightclub
After a night of food and drinks, we wanted to go dancing and this was a great pick! We found ourselves a cozy corner on the second floor and hopped from one room to another where they were playing both house and hip hop.

Off to Montreal on Monday – last show and my last days at my current job. What a crazy month it has been!

