coconut curry with quinoa
Quinoa is something I wish I ate more of – packed full of protein and easy to make! Sometimes, I’ll have dinner and then be hungry two hours later but just a bowl of this was satisfying and filling. Not sure why, but anything out of my mum’s spice cupboard seems to be spiked with chili powder. The curry powder my mum had? Yeah, WAY spicier than regular curry powder (but still not as spicy as the chili powder I used here!)

I used this recipe and made a few adaptations to suit what I had available at home.

Coconut curry with quinoa

Ingredients
1 cup uncooked Quinoa (I made extra!)
1 cup chopped, mixed vegetables (I used frozen corn and peas)
3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 sprig of green onion, chopped
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
3 tbsp. curry powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. whole wheat flour
1.75-2 cups chicken stock
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup milk
1 large tomato, diced

Directions
coconut curry: chopped onions and tomatoes
1.Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat until melted. Add chopped garlic and onion and cook for 4-5 minutes.

coconut curry: frying onions and garlic
coconut curry: spices and coconut milk
2. Add cumin, salt, and curry spices and stir well. Add flour very slowly. Add the vegetable stock very slowly to avoid clumping. Stir in coconut milk and finally add diced tomatoes and veggies.

coconut curry: veggies added in
3. Simmer on low for about 30 minutes stirring every now and then.

coconut curry: quinoa
4. While the sauce is simmering, cook the Quinoa according to the package directions (I used 2 cups quinoa + 2.5 cups water).

mixed coconut curry with quinoa
5. Scoop quinoa into a bowl and ladle some sauce over it. Eat up!

