rosemary olive cheese scones

So happy for a long weekend! I actually have some time to try new recipes. I’m not sure what I was searching when I came across this recipe for Rosemary-Kalamata Olive Scones but I’m so glad I did. These scones are DELICIOUS! I am not a big fan of eating olives on their own but since having been introduced to them a few years back, I’ve been more open to having them as garnish on pizza or with other Mediterranean delights.

As it was my first time making scones and this recipe wasn’t accompanied by photos, I googled other scone recipes to make sure I was doing it right.

Here is my adapted version of the recipe.

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary or 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup 2% milk
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup shredded cheese (I added cheese because cheese is awesome)
1/4 cup Kalamata or ripe olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
Shredded cheese, sour cream, sliced onion or parsley for garnish

Directions
1. Heat oven to 425°F (220°C). Lightly grease a baking sheet.

olives and rosemary
2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, rosemary, pepper and salt in a large bowl.

butter crumb mixture
3. Cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. You can also do this with your hands or a fork.

wet ingredients
4. Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl; mix well. Add to dry ingredents and mix just until moistened.

rosemary olive cheese scones ready for oven
5. Turn out onto lightly floured surface; knead 8 to 10 times. Pat dough into 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Cut into 8 wedges; place wedges on cookie sheet.

yummy rosemary olive cheese scones ready to eat
6.Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until light golden brown. Serve warm. Makes 8 scones. (Or more, if you make them smaller).

