plated vegetarian chili
spicy vegetarian chili
When I was little, I was apparently nicknamed, in Chinese, “little spicy pepper”. My parents’ friends all had sons, so I was the only girl, forced to play with a bunch of smelly boys. The story goes that I (in my defence, I’m sure!) would slap the boys if they so much as tried to mess with me. (I don’t remember any of this. I was a perfect angel.)

My spicy nickname clearly didn’t translate to my taste buds as eating spicy foods causes my eyes to water and nose to run and I guzzle water to stop the burning sensation.

So why then, did I decide to make a huge pot of spicy vegetarian chilli? Well I didn’t…I had intended this to be a non-spicy chilli and the spicy bit was added in by mistake. Actually, it was because I ignored my mom’s comment, “Are you sure you want to put in that many jalapenos?” and when she tried to stop me from putting in chili powder, I said, “Pffft” and dumped in a tablespoon of chilli powder (she told me later that she reserves this chilli powder to make hot sauce…).

After a taste test, I ended up fishing out the jalapenos halfway through and added a tablespoon of sugar to balance out the spiciness. Other than that, I think it turned out great!

I adapted this chili recipe from jenloveskev.

Spicy Vegetarian Chili
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp Olive oil
1 Medium Onion chopped
1 cup of frozen corn
2 medium zucchini, chopped
2 Bay leaves
1 1/2 tsp Cumin
2 tbsp dried Oregano
1 tbsp salt (I omitted this)
1 tbsp pepper
1 red pepper, chopped
45 oz. of whole tomatoes (I had 28oz. cans so I used one and a half, but drained some of the liquid to yield a thicker consistency – would probably leave out more next time)
1 small can of tomato paste
2 jalapeno peppers, chopped (optional)
1 tbsp chilli powder (optional)
1 (15oz) can kidney beans
1 (15oz.) can garbanzo beans
Cheddar cheese for garnish (optional)
Sour cream for garnish (optional)

chopped up veggies
1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Stir in the onion, and season with bay leaves, cumin, oregano, and salt. Cook and stir until onion is tender, then mix in the bell peppers, jalapeno peppers, zucchini, and garlic.

veggies in pot
2. Mix the tomatoes and paste into the pot. Season chili with chili powder and pepper. Stir in the kidney beans, garbanzo beans, corn. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer 1 hour.

veggie chili
3. Serve it up with pita, biscuits, or eat plain. You can also top with sour cream or cheddar cheese.

